top of page
Search
  • Ryan

Forget Wheaties, Find Me In Guinness

Updated: Nov 12, 2020

Did you know I was once on a box of Goldfish?


Continuing the summer saga:

With Nationals (pushed to August) looming on the edge, coming closer but also wavering on progressing, we committed and went forward with training. I find it's hard to train without a goal in mind, which is why I usually go stir crazy during weeks off or riding without any focus. So, to get through multiple 6 hour sessions, I planned, and tackled each session, as if Nationals was going ahead.


Most of my training efforts were structured around various intervals during 6 hour sessions. I found an enjoyable course, about 25 miles in length, with one stop sign and relatively quiet roads. Timing was right to park at the loop and feed at the car. Having taken notes from our cross Maryland record, Dave Starr from Eat Drink Win prescribed nutritional adjustments after each week to fine tune my strategy for nationals. Similarly, we sweat tested during each session to further build out my effort/ sweat matrix.


While the training sessions remained the same, we could adjust the nutrition and see how I performed. Dave wanted to be more certain about my fluid intake and try a higher concentration of Skratch's Superfuel drink mix to maximize carbohydrate intake. For the three weeks preceding my attempt, I was scheduled two specific race workouts- a shorter effort during the week and a full 6 hour event on the weekend. Both workouts came with precise fluid measurement, measuring the amount of drink mix added to each bottle, the volume of fluid consumed and volume of fluid expelled. While 6 efforts were not sufficient for a comprehensive matrix, it was very close for the given temperatures we were anticipating.


We tried a variety of nutrition plans during training including:

low concentration, high fluid

Regular Skratch + sport foods

Regular Skratch + rice cakes

High concentration all liquid


Despite remaining optimistic, although not too unexpected, 12 hour nationals was cancelled. Again, similar to the July Maryland effort- what do you do?


Speaking with Andy Jackson from Peaks Sport Consultancy and Dave Star, we decided to pursue the World Records for the 100km, 200km and 6 hour distance in one ride. Mentally, and physically, I was ready to go. I had prepared and performed in multiple 6 hour sessions and already had a course mapped out. Dave and I had tuned my nutrition over a 6 hour period, and the World Ultra Cycling Association was accommodating to an expedited attempt request.


Another area of focus before nationals was improving my aerodynamic efficiency on the bike. Working with Notio, front end adjustments improved my comfort while also decreasing my CDA. Specifically the extensions and pads were moved back, closer to my core while the extensions rose 20mm higher than my previous position. In the end, I was more aero, had an improved nutritional plan, and would be performing in lower humidity compared to the Maryland record in July. Things were looking good.





Leading up to the event EDW prescribed a low residue diet. This was new for me. Essentially the diet consists of low fiber foods and no "problematic" foods to reduce bulk in the body, lowering weight, and decreasing the probability of gastric distress. My regular diet includes a TON of vegetables, with a LOAD of fiber. switching to a low residue diet was like a 180. At the same time I was looking to carb load in anticipation of the event. I ate a lot of rice, a LOT! Fortunately I was able to turn to my friends at Skratch and visit their Feedzone Cookbooks for recipe inspiration. One of my favorite recipes during this time was their take on rice porridge. I substituted sweet rice, vanilla almond milk and molasses into the recipe to make it a touch sweeter- it was a morning treat!





August 20th was another early start. Fortunately, at this time of year, early is relative and I could actually sleep in. The car was packed the night before allowing for a quick getaway and less morning stress. My crew and I arrived at Church Creek, MD at 6:30am to set up and prepare for the day ahead. Immediately we noticed road construction at the one intersection of the course. My fear was that traffic would back up, my route would be blocked resulting in an impasse, or a significant time delay. However, initial fears were relaxed as the morning traffic passed quickly during my warm up, and no issues were experienced during the time trial.


Starting at the intersection of Taylors Island Road and Golden Hill Road, I clipped in and was off. Similar to my cross Maryland attempt, the morning was humid and presented dense fog. My luck, the helmet visor fogged up making vision sub optimal and further complicating my head position in the aero tuck. To make matters worse, there were areas of the road that were flooded. A few sections of tarmac were submerged in several inches of water. The only way through was through- so I got a little wet on the first lap. As I settled into my rhythm, the water resided and the fog cleared, opening to a nice day.



My feeding plan for this race was an entirely liquid diet. I was able to carry 2 liters of water, and routinely dropped empty bottles at a collection point on each lap. The planned nutrition strategy was 1.5 bottles of Skratch per hour, and the testing worked out- I encountered no stomach distress during the time trial.


Each lap presented it's own challenge. The first 2 laps passed quickly as I anticipated challenging the 100 km record on the third lap. Record rules allow for two options when verifying distance, I could prorate my speed after the X distance on the completed lap, or opt for a fixed position marker. Given my limited crew and official availability, I opted for the prorated lap. My pacing was rather consistent allowing for the same speed at the conclusion of the lap as the speed at crossing the 100km marker. Similarly, the 200km marker was shortly before the conclusion of the 5th lap. The actual and prorated speeds didn't vary.



The greatest challenge came from the wind. Starting off as relatively calm, the wind picked up and became a headwind on the last leg of my circuit. After 5.5 hours, I was worked and the headwind didn't offer any favors. The nonexistent traffic and open nature of the course also offered no opportunities to hide. At that point, my legs were set on autopilot and were pushing at all they could.


The official had the follow vehicle blow the horn at the conclusion of 6 hours. My finish position was marked and I was assisted out of the aero position and off the bike. Like any time trial, if you aren't exhausted, you didn't go hard enough. Well, having been assisted off the bike, I can safely assume, I emptied the tank.



Mission accomplished!


100km, 200km and 6 hour road records were validated and now official by WUCA, under review by Guinness. The 100 mile record is one I would like to go after in the future. However, I believe it is challenging to pace for 100 miles and a 6 hour event at once.


While competition doesn't always guarantee ideal conditions or the perfect performance, noting what was good/ bad and how to improve is part of the adaptation process. From a course perspective, Church Creek was a good course but not the best course for the most optimal performance. While low traffic and open roads were favorable, the wind, no shelter from the wind, and the weather presented some challenges that ultimately reduced my overall speed. There were a few instances where wildlife were cheering me on and almost got a little too close for comfort- turtles in the road, deer running alongside and foxes lurking... there were a few close calls.


From a gear perspective, and for a future attempt, I would select a skinsuit. With no stopping or food carrying, there was no need for a standard kit, and the watt savings, and potential comfort from a one piece suit, would have been greatly beneficial. Despite the wind, I wasn't impaired by the crosswinds and the wheel selection. The road vibration was almost imperceptible which leads me to question my selected tire pressure. I ran tubeless for the event and may have been able to get away with a higher PSI.


More importantly, I didn't stick to a straight pacing plan. With the wind as a new factor, and the circular direction of the course, I alternated power to push harder into the wind and "recover" with the aid. The power fluctuations weren't massive, but not entirely ideal either.


This was an exciting challenge that allowed me to "race" in a time when racing wasn't happening. The preparation and execution of this event also opened my eyes into different behaviors and activities I could partake in to vary my training and recovery. More importantly however, this event sparked the discussion of what it means to be an "endurance athlete" or "ultra-cyclist".


What does it mean? How do you determine success? What is the path to racing at the top?


Loads to think about and consider as we head into 2021. And while I had just finished this race, I believe the greater race has just begun.




72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page