top of page
Search
  • Ryan

February and a reason to smile

And just like that, February has come and gone.


February was a grand experiment to see how I could action on a healthier lifestyle and start my journey toward biomarker optimization with InsideTracker. I had time to digest the information from InsideTracker and was fortunate to meet with one of their performance nutritionists to review my diet, investigate my lifestyle, and further interpret my biomarkers to plot a course toward optimization. I believe I mentioned before that one of the benefits of InsideTracker is that one can view their body in ways that cannot be superficially viewed. However, as a semi-baseline, I have continued monitoring my recovery, sleep and HRV with Whoop as I monitor and implement InsideTracker's recommendations.


Whoop recovery is a rolling "average" recovery score which provides a solid baseline before working with InsideTracker. My average strain hasn't changed much (an increase of 0.2 on a 21 point scale) but my recovery scores are improving. Averaging 68% recovery before InsideTracker and now, 78% is a large improvement. How did I do it? I have been following the InsideTracker app on my phone to keep track of my daily goals- like getting more sunshine to improve my vitamin D levels. A daily reminder is helpful to make sure I plan time to get outside- which isn't easy for me this time of year (I don't enjoy the cold and spend all of my training time inside). From a food perspective, making sure I am complimenting my iron consumption with vitamin C to facilitate absorption/ use in the body. Again, I cannot view my biomarkers from this data but can see that my body is able to recover more effectively- and the workouts haven't gotten any easier!



Speaking of which, my bike hasn't seen daylight in what seems like forever (60 days- but who's counting). Despite not having Zwift or any virtual cycling platform, I have kept myself entertained with my own videos from Spain and riding on the InsideRide Eflex. The videos don't change, but I seem to escape time when reminiscing and dreaming of returning to the Basque Country. This video always gets me- my front derailleur stopped functioning (early di2) so I removed it and ran 1X before it was cool. Climbing switch backs was a literal grind but the scenery was amazing, the camera footage doesn't do it justice. This photo, below, shows the "finish line" from Google Earth. Once you reach the top of the mountain you pass under an archway which is the official, unofficial finish line.



From the other side of the arch- always celebrate after the finish line!


It doesn't look like I'll be able to return this year to participate in Luchon Bayonne- one of the classic tour de france stages, 326km with the famous Peyresourde, Aubisque, Aspin and Tormalet. That ride has to be in the top 3 rides of all time- not only were the roads and scenery stunning, but the circumstances and encounters during the day took the ride to a whole new level. However, it looks like local restrictions are starting to ease and bike racing may start returning. Time will tell, but I remain hopeful.


Having finished my 6 week block of intensity, I have now returned to more of an endurance focus. I don't particularly mind long trainer hours- as long as I am entertained and feeling good ha! Nothing is worse than straight power for 6 hours and spaghettis legs. Those are the hardest days. But, I have found that my mental state largely dictates my outlook and performance for the day. Being tired, sad or depressed all mitigate my motivation and ability to focus/ dig into my workout. Conversely, being happy has me bursting with energy and often singing along to the youtube music.


If you take only one thing away from this post in the brief read, it’s to smile more. I have recently started trying is to smile while I ride and especially during my efforts. Why?


CNN reported that smiling will improve running economy- "Collectively, these results suggest that smiling may be a beneficial strategy to improve running economy, and to reduce perception of effort in comparison with frowning. In contrast, not only does frowning reflect effort during physical activity, but may actually, in turn, increase our perception of effort."


Sure, running isn't cycling. But, smiling in the face of pain makes me laugh. And besides, if it isn't applicable to beneficial to cycling, at least there will be more smiles in the world.


So, that's February in a nutshell. Lots of time inside, mostly riding my bike and only one cannoli. Oh yeah, and I got a shark balloon for Valentine’s day.



There is always a reason to smile- and if it claims to make you faster- smile to a faster you.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why?

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page