top of page
Search
  • Ryan

What's New?

Someone said it's a new year and, as the saying goes, new year, new you-right? But to me, it feels more like March 320th 2020. Taking advantage of the holiday slow during December, I maximized my training volume hitting the longest training blocks I have ever done. To make this feat more impressive, 95% of the riding was done inside on my Wahoo Kickr. Unfortunately I am still without Zwift connectivity, and was reliant on music to serenade thousands of pedal strokes. Some days were harder than others, mentally speaking, and I learned more about myself and how to stay entertained. In case you were wondering, it is really hard to do the Cupid Shuffle while riding a bike inside.


Throwback to 2016 when stationary "dumb" trainers were my world

Keeping things interesting, my training has also changed from long duration endurance/tempo efforts to shorter duration, high intensity efforts. Talk about polarization! This work keeps me on my toes, fueling is different and my mental perspective has also changed while managing different work loads. While I was able to mindlessly cruise for several hours at low intensity, it now feels like I block out everything except the timer on my bike computer when counting down 240 seconds- I couldn't even tell you what song was playing. My nutrition on the bike has appropriately changed too. Given the longer sessions were predominately fat fueled hours, my shorter, harder rides now require more carbohydrates- faster digesting carbs- to nail the intervals. Rice cakes were the main fuel source coupled with Skratch Labs Super Fuel drink mix for my longer rides. However, I am sticking closer to the regular Exercise Hydration mix and their energy chews to keep a constant flow of carbs for the sharper efforts.



Will racing return in 2021?

I'm usually pulling together my race calendar at this time, looking forward to the year ahead and planning for certain events. Especially being one month out from the first 12 hr TT of the year, Sebring. However, now, my calendar is empty. I do know that I want to attempt the 200km & 6 hour world TT records again- most likely some time in June. Having lost both records by the smallest of margins is frustrating, and I know that meeting, and exceeding, those milestones is possible.






Theoretically, I am also stronger than I have ever been. I am not 100% certain because I don't evaluate frequently to have seen what happened during the past 6 months. However, since my last FTP test in July, I saw an increase in over 20 watts during my most recent test in January. That's exciting! While an increase in 20 w is excellent, it is also worth noting that I gained 1.5 pounds since July. My body fat percentage has remained stable, within a few tenths of a percent. To me, this is good news. One of my goals for the winter months has been to work on stabilization, mobilization and minimize any imbalances. This work has seen an increase in core and weighted body movements (dare I say gym work). I am still no "macho man", but I like to think that most of that weight is attributed to strength work and is muscle... and not the cannoli I have been treating myself too. But hey, you cannoli live one life so why not make it sweet!



What else is new? I am excited to continue racing with Bike Doctor in 2021- not new. But what is new is this fresh take on our kit design by Giordana. Take a look! You'll see me racing around in this new kit for 2021.

Also be on the lookout for the UltraCycling Show by Justin Too, episode 51! Justin interviewed me to share my background, motivation and racing aspirations with the ultra cycling community.


EDIT: Here is the 5 minute highlight video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I03NBXTBDm8


Just a few days into the year and there is a lot to look forward too! We're only getting started.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why?

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page